

## Information for Canadians traveling in Europe

As a citizen of Canada, you may visit Switzerland, or any other country of the Schengen area, without requiring a visa for a maximum of 90 days within 180 consecutive day period.

Canada may have concluded a bilateral agreement with one or more Schengen countries, allowing you to stay longer than 90 days within 180 days in **those** countries only. However, Switzerland **has not** concluded such an agreement with Canada. For information on which Schengen States have these exceptional bilateral agreements, travelers must contact each individual country themselves.

Any such agreement is of a strictly bilateral character, and does not alter the 90-days-within-180-days rule for the other Schengen countries, including Switzerland. Thus, if you have stayed more than 90 days in the Schengen area due to benefiting from such an agreement, you could be charged of overstay if you enter Switzerland, and risk to be fined or even banned from entering the whole Schengen area for some time.

Swiss or European citizens, travelling on a **NON** European passport, who wish to stay in the Schengen area for more than 90 days, must be able to prove their citizenship with a valid Swiss or European Union identity document.

Switzerland is part of the Schengen agreement since December 12, 2008. The 27 Schengen member states are: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.