

FEDERAL DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

P.242.512.0

GEN 12/06

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL III

I. Signatures of the Protocol III

The Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III), done at Geneva on 8 December 2005, was recently signed by the following States:

(1) Mexico	on 16 November 2006

- (2) Jamaica on 5 December 2006
- (3) Republic of Haiti
 (4) Republic of Lithuania
 (5) on 6 December 2006
 (6) on 6 December 2006

(5)	Republic of Turkey	on 7 December 2006

- (6) Burkina Faso on 7 December 2006
- (7) Russian Federation on 7 December 2006

At the time of its signature, the Republic of Turkey formulated the following declaration: «Regarding the "Protocol additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III)" and taking into consideration the references to the 1977 Additional Protocols I and II thereof, the Republic of Turkey declares that it is not party to the Additional Protocols I and II» (original English version).

II. Ratification by the Republic of Hungary

On 15 November 2006, the Republic of Hungary deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Hungary six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 15 May 2007.

III. Ratification by the Republic of Honduras

On 8 December 2006, the Republic of Honduras deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Honduras six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 8 June 2007.

IV. Ratification by the Kingdom of the Netherlands

On 13 December 2006, the Kingdom of the Netherlands deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III and declared it applicable to the Kingdom in Europe, to the Netherlands Antilles and to Aruba.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Kingdom of the Netherlands six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 13 June 2007.

V. Communication from the depositary

According to Article 8 of the Protocol III, the period of the opening for signature expired on 7 December 2006. The list of the Signatories is enclosed to the present notification. For the Signatory States, the Protocol III is subject to ratification. For any Party to the Geneva Conventions which has not signed it, the Protocol is open for accession.

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as Depositary of the Geneva Conventions and according to article 15 of Protocol III.

Enclosure: List of the Signatories of the Protocol III

Berne, 15 December 2006

