

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

242.512.0 - GEN 4/11

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL III

I. Ratification by the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

On 29 July 2011, the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 29 January 2012.

II. Declaration by the Argentine Republic

On 4 August 2011, the Argentine Republic reacted to the declaration made by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 15 June 2011 as follows (unofficial translation of the original Spanish text):

«The Argentine Republic rejects the British claim to extend the application of the Protocol to the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.

The Protocol applies to the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands as being an integral part of the territory of the Argentine Republic, by virtue of the ratification of the Protocol by the Argentine Government on 16 March 2011.

In relation to the question of the Falkland Islands, the United Nations General Assembly adopted the resolutions 2065 (XX), 3160 (XXVIII), 31/49, 37/9, 38/12, 39/6, 40/21, 41/40, 42/19 and 43/25, recognizing the existence of a dispute over sovereignty and requesting the Argentine Republic and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to re-initiate negotiations with a view to finding the means to resolve peacefully and definitively the dispute, with the good offices of the Secretary-General of the United Nations, who will inform the General Assembly on the progress made. The United Nations Special Committee on decolonization has repeatedly expressed the same view, most recently in the resolutions adopted on 24 June 2010 and 21 June 2011. Likewise, the General Assembly of the Organization of American States has adopted, on 8 June 2010 and on 7 June 2011, new declarations on the question in similar terms.

The Argentine Republic reaffirms its right of sovereignty over the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands and the surrounding maritime space.»

III. Accession by the Republic of Armenia

On 12 August 2011, the Republic of Armenia deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of accession to the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Armenia six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 12 February 2012.

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as depositary (www.eda.admin.ch/depositary) of the Geneva Conventions and Additional Protocols.

Berne, 1st September 2011

