Organisation of the DEA

The DEA has three divisions: Economic Affairs, Political Affairs and Bilateral Relations. The Information Section, Law and Agreements Section and the Staff Office report directly to the head of the DEA.

The liaison officers for the cantons, who work with the DEA on behalf of the Conference of the Cantonal Governments of Switzerland, ensure that information on European policy is shared between the federal government and the cantons.

Some 50 staff are employed at the DEA.