Western Balkans

The goal of the Western Balkans Division (WBD) is to support partner countries in their transition to democratic market systems and contribute to their integration at the regional and European level. The joint cooperation strategies of the SDC and SECO form the basis of the programmes carried out in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, North Macedonia and Serbia. The following are the key focus areas of activity:

  • Decentralisation and good governance
  • Economic development and (youth) employment
  • Health, water and infrastructure
  • Migration

The WBD also implements regional programmes in the areas of police cooperation and research and helps fund regional initiatives.