Eastern and Southern Africa Division (ESA)

The Eastern and Southern Africa Division (ESA) covers two country programmes and three regional programmes:

  • Mozambique
  • Tanzania
  • Great Lakes (Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
  • Horn of Africa (Somalia, Ethiopia, Kenya)
  • Southern Africa (Zimbabwe, Malawi, Zambia, Lesotho and Eswatini)

ESA is active in healthcare, rural development and employment, transition and good governance. It coordinates its programmes with the other sections of the FDFA active in these countries/regions, in particular with the following divisions of the Directorate of Political Affairs:  the Human Security Division (HSD) in the area of peacebuilding and the Sub-Saharan Africa and Francophonie Division (SAFD).