Agriculture and food security

Rural production and service systems and with special emphasis placed on the sustainable use of natural resources.

State and economic reforms

Strengthening the state in serving citizens, democratisation, fair economic and taxation policies, and respect for human rights .

Gender equality

Equal opportunities for men and women in all development processes, for a balanced society.


Promotion of the artistic and cultural expressions, engines of change and cohesion.

Basic education and vocational training

High-quality formal and informal education systems that provide all populations with broad access to essential knowledge.


Prevention of human trafficking and exploitation, and assistance for refugees and displaced persons in returning home.

West Africa Division

© DDC Niger
© DDC Niger

The West Africa Division covers four priority countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger. It works for rural development and food security, local governance and decentralisation, and for basic education and vocational education and training. To facilitate regional integration, the division works together with professional organisations and think-tanks. It acts as a centre of expertise for basic education. It also fosters international political dialogue and exchanges with Swiss stakeholders, in particular the Swiss Network for Education and International Cooperation (RECI). Furthermore, the division coordinates Switzerland's work with the African Development Bank, a major partner in this region for the SDC.  

More information can be found on the French page.