Country report to the UN

Switzerland plays its part in international reporting on the implementation of the 2030 Agenda, with the Federal Council preparing a country report for the UN in the middle of each legislative period. The first such country report was presented at the 2018 High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development. The second is currently in progress and will be presented to the international community and the Swiss population in 2022.

In the general assembly hall of the UN in New York, the high-level government representatives of the UN member states applaud the adoption of the 2030 Agenda.
With the adoption of the 2030 Agenda, the UN member states have also committed to a regular review of the progress made in the implementation. © UN Photo/Cia Pak

The country report provides an overview of Switzerland's implementation of the 2030 Agenda, both locally and globally. It presents the main opportunities and challenges facing Switzerland on its way to achieving the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Sustainable development is a task for society as a whole, which is why the country report is based on a comprehensive stock taking survey with broad-based participation. Specialists from all departments of the Federal Administration will be consulted, and in addition representatives from the cantons and communes, as well as business, academia and civil society organisations, will be asked for their views on sustainable development in Switzerland and input on how they are contributing to it.

The resulting overview will be published on the 'SDGital2030' website from the summer of 2022. It will show people in Switzerland where their country stands in the implementation of the 17 SDGs and 169 targets.

Länderbericht an die UNO

Die Schweiz beteiligt sich an der internationalen Berichterstattung zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030. Der Bundesrat erstellt dazu jeweils in der Mitte der Legislaturperiode einen Länderbericht zuhanden der UNO. Der erste Länderbericht wurde 2018 am Hochrangigen Politischen Forum für nachhaltige Entwicklung vorgestellt. Der zweite ist aktuell in Arbeit und wird 2022 der internationalen Gemeinschaft und der Schweizer Bevölkerung präsentiert.

In der grossen Generalversammlungshalle der Vereinten Nationen in New York applaudieren die hochrangigen Regierungsvertreter der UNO-Mitgliedstaaten zur Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030.
Mit der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 verpflichteten sich die Mitgliedstaaten der Vereinten Nationen auch zu einer regelmässigen Überprüfung der Fortschritte bei der Umsetzung. © UN Photo/Cia Pak

Der Länderbericht gibt einen Überblick über den Umsetzungsstand der Agenda 2030 durch die Schweiz, lokal wie global. Darin werden die wichtigsten Chancen und Herausforderungen präsentiert, die für die Schweiz auf dem Weg zum Erreichen der 17 globalen Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung bestehen.

Die nachhaltige Entwicklung ist eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe. Deshalb basiert der Länderbericht auf einer umfassenden und partizipativen Bestandsaufnahme . Neben der Befragung von Fachexperten aus allen Departementen der Bundesverwaltung werden Vertreter aus Kantonen und Gemeinden, sowie Organisationen aus Zivilgesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft nach ihren Beiträgen und Einschätzungen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Schweiz befragt.

Dieses Gesamtbild wird ab dem Sommer 2022 auf der Webseite «SDGital2030» publiziert. Dies erlaubt es der Bevölkerung zu sehen, wo die Schweiz als Ganzes in der Umsetzung der 17 SDGs und 169 Targets steht.