Sustainable Development Strategy

In the Sustainable Development Strategy, the Federal Council outlines its policy priorities for sustainable development in the medium to long term.  It is the main instrument for implementing the 2030 Agenda in Switzerland.

The Sustainable Development Strategy (SDS) is an overarching strategy adopted by the Federal Council that reflects the priorities of the four-year legislative period. It outlines Switzerland’s desired developments in major areas. The strategy draws on the 2030 Agenda and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) as a frame of reference. 

While many of the SDG requirements were already anchored in the central thematic areas of the 2016–19 strategy, the new strategy is fully aligned with the 2030 Agenda. It follows the 2030 time frame to ensure optimal coordination with the 2030 Agenda and longer-term planning security and continuity. The Sustainable Development Strategy Action Plan is updated every four years to reflect the new legislative programme. 

The 2030 SDS is currently being developed. In terms of content, it will focus on three main topics: ‘Consumption and production’, ‘Energy, climate and biodiversity’ and ‘Equal opportunities’. A wide-ranging consultation process will take place in autumn 2020.

Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung

In der Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung zeigt der Bundesrat auf, welche politischen Schwerpunkte er für die nachhaltige Entwicklung mittel- bis langfristig setzt.  Sie ist das hauptsächliche Instrument zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 in der Schweiz.

Die Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung (SNE) ist eine übergeordnete Strategie des Bundesrats und mit der Legislaturplanung verknüpft. Sie zeigt auf, in welche Richtung sich die Schweiz in wichtigen Bereichen weiterentwickeln soll. Die Agenda 2030 und ihre Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) bildet dabei den Referenzrahmen für die Strategie.

Bereits in der SNE 2016-2019 sind viele Anforderungen der SDGs in zentralen Themenbereichen der Strategie verankert. Die kommende Strategie wird vollständig auf die Agenda 2030 ausgerichtet. Sie verfolgt den Zeithorizont 2030, um eine optimale Abstimmung mit der Agenda 2030 sicherzustellen und eine längerfristige Planungssicherheit und Kontinuität zu gewährleisten. Der Aktionsplan der SNE wird zusammen mit der Legislaturplanung im Vierjahresrhythmus aktualisiert.

Die SNE 2030 ist derzeit in Erarbeitung. Inhaltlich fokussiert sie auf die drei Schwerpunktthemen «Konsum und Produktion», «Energie, Klima und Biodiversität» und «Chancengleichheit». Im Herbst 2020 wird eine breite Vernehmlassung durchgeführt.